Under 2C:58-3, an individual can be denied a permit to purchase a handgun or a firearms purchaser identification card in New Jersey if:
1) The individual has a conviction of any crime, or a disorderly persons offense involving an act of domestic violence;
2) The individual is a drug dependent person, has been confined for a mental disorder, or has a habitual drinking problem;
3) The individual suffers from a physical condition that would make it unsafe to handle a firearm;
4) The individual knowingly falsifies information on the application form;
5) The individual is under 18 years old for a firearms purchaser identification card or the individual is under the age of 21 years for a permit to purchase a handgun;
6) If the issuance to the individual would not be in the interest of the public health, safety or welfare;
7) If the individual is subject to a restraining order prohibiting the possession any firearm;
8) If the individual has a juvenile record for certain weapons related offenses; or
9) If the individual’s firearm was seized pursuant to the “Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991” and the firearm has not been returned.
If you have been denied a permit to purchase a handgun or a firearms purchaser identification card in New Jersey, you have 30 days to appeal the denial to the Superior Court.
If you are planning to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun or a firearms purchaser identification card and are concerned about the possibility of being denied, there may be options available to you.
Call Jason T. Komninos, Esq. at (201) 343-4622 to schedule a consultation.